Route 66 is a popular touring destination for automobile owners looking to experience the American Southwest. Arizona mandates auto insurance registration for all drivers with the state Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Drivers with a record of traffic citations or driving without insurance in the state may be subject to fine. Liability auto insurance is the minimum insurance coverage for Arizona drivers.
Required Auto Insurance Coverage
Arizona’s Financial Responsibility law requires registration of a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (SR-22) at a state MVD to reinstate a license. All drivers must evidence proof for auto liability insurance of a minimum of 15/30/10 or 15,000/30,000/10,000 or:
- $15,000 bodily injury coverage for death of one (1) person, in an accident
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage for death of two (2) or more persons in an accident. Coverage is subject to a $15,000 per person limit
- $10,000 property damages or injury of another in an accident
Optional Auto Insurance Coverage
Prior to signing on to auto insurance coverage, Arizona drivers may supplement liability insurance with the additional coverage for:
- Auto lease
- Comprehensive collision and liability
- Parts and equipment replacement
- Medical bills
- Personal injury protection (PIP)
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily
- Uninsured motorist property damage
- Towing and auto repair costs
Combined auto insurance and homeowners insurance, or medical insurance agreements may be available through your insurance broker. Ask an agent about comprehensive coverage, as well as premiums, claim submission, and compensation limits. Factors such as age, model, of vehicle, driving history, credit score, and city of residence may affect insurance policy premiums. Drivers classified as higher risk as result of age and gender, DWIs or traffic citations, may also be required to supplemental fees.
To find out more about auto insurance in Arizona, and to obtain a quote, contact San Marcos Insurance Group, Chandler, AZ.